National Transport Survey

National Transport Survey

 

As part of the Oman National Spatial Strategy, the Oman National Transport Model (ONTM) will be prepared to support the establishment of an effective transport system to enable sustainable development in the country. With the aim to ensure accuracy in planning and decision making, the Oman National Transport Survey (ONTS) will be carried out over the months of October, November and December 2017 to generate accurate data for the transport sector. The ONTS is being undertaken in collaboration with the Ministry of Transport and Communications and Royal Oman Police.

The ONTS includes a range of field surveys to be carried out in all governorates of the Sultanate including interviewing commuters at various transport terminals (bus, airport, seaports, borders crossings), people at their homes, businesses, in their cars, in taxis or on buses. The ONTS will include:

Field Traffic Surveys: Automatic Traffic Counts (ATC), Turning Movement Counts (TMC), Journey Time Surveys (JTS),) and Manual Classified Counts (MCCs).

Behavior Surveys: Household Interview Surveys (HIS), Roadside Interview Surveys (RSI), Stated Preference Surveys (SP), Behavior Surveys (Agencies, Enterprises, Hotels), Passenger Terminal Surveys (Ports, Airports and Borders).

Public Transport Surveys: Bus Terminal Surveys, In Vehicle (Bus) Surveys, Passenger Demand Surveys and Spot Measurements, Public Transport User Opinion Surveys, Taxi Surveys of Operators, Taxi Surveys of Users.

The information generated by the ONTS will be used to build a mathematical model of the transport network and transport use. This ONTM will be used to identify and predict transport requirements for the future and will inform strategic decisions on where to build new transport infrastructure and where to encourage new forms of public transport.

The ONTM will address and provide suitable measures to manage current and future challenges in the country such as a growing population and economy, road safety issues, dominance of the road sector in the current transport system and the need for wider travel options. It will also be used to define approaches to reducing the impact of transport on the wider environment and to define network enhancements to create stronger connectivity between Governorates and the principal urban areas.

To ensure the ONTS is successful there is a need for a high level of participation of users of all modes of transport, households and businesses in answering detailed yet simple questions about transport use and travel behavior in the country. Participation from all citizens and residents approached by surveyors is encouraged. This will make a difference and will inform how transport is planned and delivered in the Sultanate.

 

 FQ:


FQ

FA

What is the purpose of all these transport surveys?

The National level transport surveys are known to be the preferred methods of collecting primary data. As this is happening for the first time in the history of Oman, the purpose is:

· to describe existing conditions and to establish justifications of the conditions at a given time so that greater understanding of transport system behaviour may be obtained

· to give input (after analysis of the survey results) in predictive transport models so as to forecast future transport conditions and to predict the effects of system changes

How long will the surveys last?

The surveys will commence Nationally in the third week of October and will be conducted over a period of 12 weeks. There are 17 different types of surveys, these include the survey of approximately 15,000 households, 290 locations for traffic counts, 76 locations for Road Side Interviews, more than 3,000 interviews at Airports, Ports and Borders and over 4,500 interviews with Public Transport Users.

Am I obliged to answer to the questions?

Answering the questions is not obligatory; however your participation is extremely valuable. By sharing your travel characteristics and opinion, you play an effective role in determining the areas for future development. As this is coming from the citizens Nationally, it would be considered progressive change which would be addressed through the National and Regional Spatial Strategies.

Am I obliged to give my name?

The surveys are anonymous! Answering personal questions are at your discretion. We ask that you consider cooperating fully and openly as obtaining the personal characteristics of every individual who participates in the surveys is key to refining our analysis; it would prove that the assessment of the situation is as accurate as possible enabling efficient planning to serve the nation and its residents.

What can I do if the enumerators are not polite and/or forcing me to participate?

You can contact the supervisor, the company responsible or you can surely visit SCP’s website to raise any issues.

How am I sure that the enumerators are certified and have been recruited for this project?

All enumerators will be identifiable as they will have specific badges who the involved consultants are with the responsible persons’ contact details. They will also carry an official letter, signed by SCP, giving permission for conducting the transport surveys.

Am I recorded through the video cameras which are installed in the road network?

The video cameras are installed to record the number of vehicles passing in a specific location. They are installed along the streets and main intersections only for one week.

Am I going to be informed by the media about the surveys?

The SCP has started to communicate through various media platforms about the surveys. This includes announcements in newspapers, on the radio, TV interviews, social media, text messages, posters, leaflets and more.

Is there a possibility to answer the survey through a telephone interview rather than face to face?

Telephone interviews are not principally used but they may take place upon your request only in the case of conducting Household Surveys and only in the instance of the interview occurring with a few members of the household absent at the time of the interview or if it is not feasible or convenient for you to accept the enumerator again to your place, you can give the missing information over the phone. That means that you are willing to give your telephone number.

Can I ask to complete the questionnaire by myself?

The enumerators are trained personnel with a specific method of filling in the questionnaires. This is to ensure efficient primary data collection has taken place so the resulting analysis is accurate and useful.

What projects will the future Public Transport System include?

The Public Transport schemes that will be examined in national and regional level to address the future needs, include the improvement of the existing infrastructure and services (eg bus lanes, better coverage of the area, improved frequencies) and the introduction of new modes of public transport such as railway, tram/ metro. The main target is to tackle the future needs in an integrated way, securing high accessibility and connectivity of main land uses to the network such as residential areas, public transport terminals (e.g airports, ports), Universities, touristic attractions etc.

FQ

FA

What is the Oman National Spatial Strategy (ONSS)?

The ONSS is a comprehensive spatial framework for directing, organizing and implementing sustainable high quality urban and rural development in the Sultanate of Oman. It is intended to provide incentives for enhancing socio-economic prosperity in combination with improving the environment for future generations. The ONSS is expected to become the guiding framework for development in the Sultanate for the foreseeable future.

What does the ONSS consist of?


The ONSS consists of four phases;

· The first two phases are now complete and included the collection of data, analysis of the existing situation and the preparation for the commencement of the strategy development.

· In the current final phases; Phases three and four aim to prepare spatial strategies for each of the eleven governorates and integrate those into the National Spatial Strategy for the Sultanate as a whole.

To ensure the ONSS is properly implemented, an assessment will be carried out of the existing institutional and organisational arrangements to deliver planning services and some recommendations for change will be defined to improve the efficiency of the planning system. All institutions which deal with spatial, land use, environment, social and planning development in Oman at all levels: local, regional as well as national will be involved in the process. Proposals for future organisational and functional reforms would be developed to enable the effective implementation of the ONSS.

In addition, the ONSS includes the design and implementation of the Oman Planning Information System which is a national GIS System which will aid decision making. It will also be complemented with information generated from the comprehensive national transport survey for the Sultanate, also a key deliverable of the ONSS.

How will the ONSS be developed?

The development of the ONSS is envisioned to be a collaborative effort between the stakeholders, the residents and the consultants.

The ONSS will be developed in a simultaneous manner as Regional Spatial Strategy (RSS) on a regional level and ONSS on a national level to be aligned with the Vision 2040.

The idea is to achieve compatible planning between the country and its governorates. This is to ensure a final consolidated vision and obtain with relevant planning standards and tools in a place ready to be utilized in an implementation framework.

The implementation framework is expected to guide planning activities at all levels:

· The first step will involve an extensive primary data collection exercise on all kind of information related to social, economic and land use aspects. The stakeholders are intensively involved by highlighting their current issues and future solutions.

· The second step involves the development of a number of plausible national scenarios, based both on the regional key topics and international trends. After consultation with the stakeholders, the SCP will formulate the preferred spatial direction for the Sultanate. This will be the base for further elaboration of the specific strategies on regional and national levels. This in turn will be debated with both national and regional stakeholders and the final strategies will be approved by the SCP council, before being endorsed by Al-Shura and the Council of State.

What are the important trends the ONSS will be addressing?

Some of the important trends the ONSS will be addressing include:

· Encouragement and integration of sustainability in all aspects of development

· Population growth in size and typology

· Economic growth and diversification

· Well-guided Spatial Development with high spatial quality

· Contemporary land use system with smart integrated mobility

· Well preserved Natural environment and cultural heritage

· Food security and resilient water systems

· Climate change and energy transition

· Health and Well-being

How is the ONSS being delivered?

To deliver the ONSS efficiently the SCP Secretariat General formed a Project Management Team consisting of skilled Omani personnel and international experts. The SCP team will take forward the ONSS management and preparation with the assistance of a number of international consultancy firms. A Main Consulting Engineer (MCE) for the National Strategy and four consultant firms for the Regional Spatial Strategies (RSS) have been selected and will closely collaborate to develop the required regional strategies culminating in the national strategy, under supervision of the project management team of the SCP.

When is the ONSS expected to be complete for approval by the SCP Council?

This 22-month effort is envisaged to be complete by mid 2019.

المسح الوطني الشامل للنقل
الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية
 
هي خطة شاملة بعيدة المدى لتوجيه وتنظيم كافة أنماط التنمية العمرانية على المستوى الوطني والإقليمي والتي ستساهم في تحقيق الرؤية المستقبلية عُمان 2040
ويضمن مشروع الإستراتيجية تحقيق التوافق والموائمة بين التخطيط الوطني والتخطيط لكل محافظة، وذلك للخروج برؤية موحدة وأدوات للتنظيم والتنفيذ. ومن أهم أهداف المشروع:
1- تحقيق الاستغلال الأمثل لاستخدامات الاراضي.
2- تحقيق التنمية المتوازنة بين مختلف المحافظات والمناطق.
3- تحقيق التوازن بين التنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية وحماية البيئة.
4- وضع البرامج والخطط لبناء القدرات للموارد البشرية.
5- بناء نظم معلومات جغرافية و نظام تخطيطي متكامل.
6- إجراء مسح شامل للنقل على المستوي الوطني.
 
لماذا المسح الوطني الشامل للنقل؟
يأتي ضمن أهداف الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية إجراء مسح شامل لقطاع النقل على المستوى الوطني وعلى مستوى المحافظات وذلك بتصميم ووضع أدوات تخطيطية وبرنامج معلوماتي متكامل لتنظيم قطاع النقل. حيث يعتبر المسح أداه مهمة للتخطيط ، حيث سيساهم في صنع قرارات مبنية على نظم معلومات جغرافية. ولذلك سيتم تنفيذ برنامج المسح الوطني الشامل للنقل خلال الشهور القادمة من أكتوبر إلى ديسمبر من العام الجاري.
سيتم تغطية هذه المسوحات الميدانية في جميع محافظات السلطنة من خلال:
1- المسوحات الميدانية لحركة المرور: العد المروري الآلي، العد المروري على التقاطعات، مسوحات لمعرفة مدة الرحلات.
2- مسوحات سلوكيات مستخدمي حركة النقل: مقابلات مع أصحاب الفنادق والشركات، مقابلات على الطريق مع قائدي المركبات، مقابلات للسكان في المنازل.
3- مسوحات لمستخدمي النقل العام: مقابلات عند نقاط وقوف الحافلات، مقابلات في محطات الحافلات، مقابلات لاستطلاع الرأي العام عن استخدام النقل العام، مقابلات مع سائقي ومستخدمي مركبات الأجرة، مقابلات مع المسافرين عبر المطارات والموانئ والمعابر الحدودية.
شارك معنا في المسوحات الوطنية الشاملة للنقل
يتسم المشروع بدرجة عالية من الدقة والتنظيم، وبالتالي فإنه يتطلب تضافر الجهود ومشاركة مختلف الجهات المعنية، حيث يعد مشروع إعداد الاستراتيجية واحدًا من أكبر المشاريع الوطنية من نوعها التي يتم تنفيذها في السلطنة والتي سيكون لها تأثير واسع النطاق على مختلف الجوانب في المستقبل المنظور.
 
 
 

  الأسئلة المتكررة:

 

الأسئلة المتكررة

الإجابات المتكررة

ما هو هدف المسح الوطني الشامل للنقل؟

لأول مرة في تاريخ السلطنة يتم تنفيذ برنامج مسح خاص بالنقل وحركة المرور، ويهدف إلى:

- معرفة ظروف حركة المرور الحالية وتفسير أنماط السلوك المتعلقة بها.
المساهمة في بناء نماذج النقل (بعد تحليل نتائج الدراسة المسحية) وذلك للتنبؤ بحركة المرور المستقبلية وتوقع آثار التغييرات على نظام النقل.

كم تبلغ فترة تنفيذ المسوحات؟

سيتم تنفيذ برنامج المسح خلال 12 أسبوعًا إبتداء من منتصف أكتوبر إلى منتصف ديسمبرمن العام الجاري. ويتضمن البرنامج 17 نوعًا مختلفًا من المسوحات الميدانية. كما يتضمن البرنامح مسح لسكان المنازل لحوالي 15,000 منزل، و290 موقعًا لإحصاء حركة المرور وإجراء مقابلات في 76 موقعًا مع قائدي المركبات على الطريق وما يزيد عن 3000 مقابلة في المطارات والموانئ والمنافذ الحدودية وأكثر من 4500 مقابلة مع مستخدمي النقل العام.

هل يجب علي الإجابة على الأسئلة؟

لا، لا أحد ملزم بالإجابة على أي سؤال، ولكن مشاركتك ستكون قَيمةً للغاية حيث أن إبداء رأيك بخصائص الرحلات التي قمت بها، ستسهم بدور فعال في تحديد مجالات للتنمية المستقبلية والتغيير الإيجابي الذي سيعالج من خلال الاستراتيجيات الإقليمية والوطنية العمرانية.


هل يجب علي الكشف عن اسمي؟

لا، البيانات الشخصية (على سبيل المثال دخل الأسرة وغيرها) متروكة لتقديركم الشخصي. ونرجو منك التعاون الكامل والصريح حيث أن المعلومات الشخصية للمشاركين في المسح تعتبر مفتاحًا لنجاح التحليل ليصبح تقيم الوضع دقيقًا قدر الإمكان ويمكّن التخطيط الفعال لخدمة الوطن والمواطنين.


ماذا يمكنني أن أفعل إذا كان القائم بالمسح غير مهذب أو يجبرني على المشاركة أو كليهما؟

يمكنك الاتصال بالمشرف أو الشركة المسؤولة، ودائمًا يمكنك زيارة الموقع الإلكتروني للمجلس الأعلى للتخطيط وتقديم شكوى.

كيف يمكنني التأكد من أن القائم بالمسح معتمد وتم توظيفه لهذا المشروع؟

يُدرب جميع القائمون بعملية المسح ويحصلون على شارات خاصة تحتوي على معلومات الاستشاريين المعنيين وتفاصيل جهة اتصال والأشخاص المسؤولين، وسيحملون خطاب رسمي موقع عليه من المجلس الأعلى للتخطيط بالتفويض لإجراء المسح.

هل جرى تصويري من خلال كاميرات الفيديو المثبتة فى شبكة الطرق؟

ثُبتت كاميرات الفيديو لمدة أسبوع واحد في كل موقع على طول الشوارع وتقاطعات الطرق الرئيسية ولا تسجل إلا رقم المركبات في تلك المواقع.

هل ستكون هناك حملة إعلامية حول المسح؟

يتم تنفذ خطة إعلامية متعددة الوسائط، وتشمل إعلانات في الصحف، والإذاعة والإعلانات التلفزيونية والمقابلات ووسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية، والرسائل النصية في الهواتف والملصقات والنشرات وما إلى ذلك.

هل يمكن الإجابة على أسئلة المسح من خلال الهاتف؟

لا يُطلب منك، في الأساس، إجراء لقاءٍ عبر الهاتف. وقد تجري المحاورات الهاتفية بناءً على طلبك فقط وذلك في حالة إجراء المقابلات في المنازل، مع أفراد الأسرة الغير حاضرين وقت إجراء المقابلة أو إذا كان من غير الممكن لك إستقبال القائم بالمسح مرة أخرى في منزلك، فيمكنك تقديم المعلومات غير المضافة عبر الهاتف. وهذا يعني أنك على استعداد لتقديم رقم هاتفك.


هل يمكنني تعبئة البيانات بنفسي؟

لا لا يمكنك، فلا يٌسمح باستكمال الإستبيانات، إلا من قبل القائمين على عملية المسح فقط.

ما هي المشاريع التي سوف يشملها نظام النقل العام في المستقبل؟


سوف تشمل المشاريع خطط للنقل العام على المستويين الوطني والإقليمي لمعالجة الاحتياجات المستقبلية وتتضمن هذه الخطط تحسين البنية التحتية الحالية والخدمات (مثل طرق الحافلات، وتغطية أفضل للمنطقة، وتحسين الترددات)، وتقديم أنظمة جديدة للنقل العام مثل السكك الحديدية، والمترو. ويتمثل الهدف الرئيسي من ذلك في تلبية الاحتياجات المستقبلية بطريقة متكاملة، وضمان إمكانية الوصول إلى الشبكات الرئيسية واستخدامها على نطاق واسع لشبكة مثل المناطق السكنية، ومحطات النقل العام (مثل المطارات والموانئ) والجامعات والمعالم السياحية وما إلى ذلك.

ما هي الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية ؟

تعد هذه الاستراتيجية إطارا لتمكين التخطيط الشامل لتنظيم وتوجيه لتنمية مستدامة عالية الجودة في المناطق الحضرية والريفية على مستوى السلطنة، وتهدف إلى تعزيز الرخاء الاجتماعي والاقتصادي الذي يتوافق مع تحسين البيئة للأجيال القادمة، ومن المتوقع أن تصبح هذه الاستراتيجية الإطار التوجيهي للتنمية في السلطنة في المستقبل .

ما هي مراحل مشروع الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية ؟

يتم تنفيذ الاستراتيجية من خلال أربع مراحل:
• المرحلة الاولى والثانية تم الانتهاء منها، فقد كان الهدف منها جمع البيانات وتحليل الوضع الراهن والإعداد لبدء تطوير الاستراتيجية.
• في المراحل النهائية الحالية الثالثة والرابعة؛ وتهدف المرحلتين إلى إعداد استراتيجيات عمرانية إقليمية على مستوى 11 محافظة ودمجها في الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية على مستوى السلطنة ككل.

ولضمان تنفيذ الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية كما ينبغي، سيجري تقييم للاستعدادات المؤسسية والتنظيمية القائمة لتنفيذ خدمات التخطيط، كما سيتم تحديد بعض التوصيات المتعلقة بالتغيير من أجل تحسين كفاءة نظام التخطيط. وستشارك في هذه العملية جميع المؤسسات التي تتعامل مع التنمية العمرانية واستخدامات الأراضي والبيئة والتنمية الاجتماعية والتخطيط في عمان على جميع المستويات المحلية والإقليمية والوطنية، وستوضع مقترحات لإصلاحات تنظيمية ووظيفية في المستقبل لتمكين التنفيذ الفعال للاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية.
ويأتي ضمن أهداف الاستراتيجية تصميم وتنفيذ نظام معلومات التخطيط العماني القائم على نظم المعلومات الجغرافية الوطنية التي من شأنها ستساهم في صنع القرارات في المسقتبل . كما سيتم استكمالها بالمعلومات التي سيتم تجميعها من برنامج المسح الوطني الشامل للنقل في السلطنة، الذي يعد من أهم مخرجات الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية.


كيف سيتم تطوير الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية ؟

من المتوقع أن يكون تطوير هذه الاستراتيجية جهدا تعاوني بين الجهات المعنية والمواطنين والخبراء والمؤسسات الاستشارية العالمية.
ويتزامن وضع هذه الاستراتيجية مع إعداد الاستراتيجيات على المستوى الوطني و الإقليمي لكي تتزامن مع إعداد الرؤية المستقبلة (عمان2040).
وذلك لتحقيق التوافق والمواءمة بين التخطيط الوطني والتخطيط لكل محافظة، ومن ثم الخروج برؤية موحدة وأدوات تخطيط و وسائل للتنظيم لاستخدامها في الإطار تنفيذي.

ومن المتوقع أن يوجه إطار التنفيذ أنشطة التخطيط على جميع المستويات:
• ستتضمن هذه الخطوة عملية ذات نطاق واسع لجمع البيانات الأولوية بشأن جميع أنواع المعلومات المتعلقة بالجوانب الاجتماعية والاقتصادية واستخدامات الاراضي، ومشاركة الجهات المعنية بشكل مكثف من خلال أبرز القضايا في الوضع الراهنة.

• تتضمن الخطوة الثانية وضع عدد من السيناريوهات الوطنية المعقولة، استنادا إلى المواضيع الرئيسية الإقليمية والاتجاهات الدولية. وبعد التشاور مع الجهات المعنية سيقوم المجلس الأعلى للتخطيط بصياغة الاتجاه العمراني الأفضل للسلطنة. وسيكون هذا هو الأساس لمزيد من التوسع في الاستراتيجيات المحددة على الصعيدين الإقليمي والوطني، وسيجري مناقشة هذا الأمر مع الجهات المعنية الوطنية والإقليمية على السواء، وسيتم الموافقة على الاستراتيجيات النهائية من قبل المجلس الأعلى للتخطيط قبل اعتمادها من قبل مجلس الشورى ومجلس الدولة.

ماهي التوجهات الرئيسة التي تتضمن الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية ؟

من بين التوجهات المهمة التي ستتناولها الاستراتيجية:

• تشجيع ودمج التنمية المستدامة في جميع القطاعات.
• تصنيف النمو السكاني
• النمو والتنويع الاقتصادي
• توجيه التطوير العمراني مع جودة عمرانية عالية
• نظام للاستخدام الأمثل للأراضي.
• الحفاظ على البيئة الطبيعية والتراث الثقافي
• توازن الأمن الغذائي و موارد المياه
• تغيرات المناخ وتحول الطاقة
• الصحة والرفاهية

كيف سيتم تنفيذ الاستراتيجية ؟

لتنفيذ الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية بكفاءة عالية قامت الأمانة العامة للمجلس الأعلى للتخطيط بتشكيل فريق متكامل لإدارة المشروع و المكون من موظفين وخبراء عمانيين وخبراء دوليين، ويقوم الفريق بإعداد وإدارة المشروع بمساعدة عدد من الشركات الاستشارية العالمية، وقد تم اختيار مهندس استشاري رئيسي للاستراتيجية الوطنية على المستوى الوطني وأربع شركات استشارية للاستراتيجيات الإقليمية على مستوى المحافظات . والتي سوف تعمل ضمن إطار موحد لوضع الاستراتيجيات الإقليمية وصولا للاستراتيجية الوطنية تحت إشراف فريق إدارة المشروع المكلف من قبل المجلس الأعلى للتخطيط.


متى سيتم الانتهاء من وضع الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية؟

من المقرر الانتهاء من وضع الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية العمرانية في منتصف عام 2019 والتي من المخطط أن يتم إصدارها بموجب مرسوم سلطاني لتصبح بعد ذلك إطار عمل للتنمية المستقبلية بسلطنة عمان في المستقبل المنظور.